Skip Navigation LinksRPS 205 Home > News > WIFR News Anchor Recognized with Lincoln Capstone Award

WIFR News Anchor Recognized with Lincoln Capstone Award


​​Lincoln Middle School will hold its annual Capstone Award ceremony on Thursday and induct WIFR TV Anchor and Reporter Whitney Martin into the school’s Hall of Fame. 

Martin attended Lincoln Middle School from 1996-1998. She says her journalism career began at Lincoln when she signed up for yearbook class. She joined the 23 WIFR News Team in March 2007 and has since covered Rockford-area news as a photographer and reporter. She was promoted to the anchor chair in 2010. Martin has received recognition from the Illinois Broadcasters Association and the Associated Press.

The Lincoln Hall of Fame was established in 2002, during the school’s 75th anniversary, to honor alumni and faculty who inspire students. A committee selects the inductees each year, and Lincoln’s hallways are decorated with banners bearing photos of Capstone Award winners as a permanent exhibit to honor Hall of Fame members. The committee chose Martin because of her involvement in the Rockford community. She also serves as a good role model for Lincoln students.

Martin will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony at 2 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 5, in the Lincoln auditorium. She will also take questions from Lincoln students.

Austin Rux, a former Lincoln Middle School and East High School student who died in 2011, was recognized in 2014 for his spirit and love of life. 

Other members of the Lincoln Middle School Hall of Fame: Former Major League baseball player Rodney Meyers; local activist Anthony Wilson; Illinois State University Football Coach Brock Spack; jazz musician Harlan Jefferson; Cheap Trick guitar legend Rick Nielsen and drummer Bun E. Carlos; ABC News medical correspondent Dr. Timothy Johnson; 1980 presidential candidate and Rockford congressman John B. Anderson; 17th Judicial Circuit Court Chief Judge Janet (Clark) Holmgren; hostage survivor Kurt Carlson; figure skater and 1972 Olympic bronze medalist Janet Lynn; artist Tom Heflin; photographer Nels Akerlund; Grammy-nominated musician Raul Cardenas; former Lincoln Principal Harry Hulick; Kids Around the World founder Dennis Johnson; Mary Ann (Aleks) Smith, who led the campaign to restore the Coronado Performing Arts Center; and Marine Corporal Adam McKiski, who was killed in Iraq in 2008.​