Skip Navigation LinksRPS 205 Home > News > School Board seat in Subdistrict E

School Board seat in Subdistrict E


​The Rockford School Board has selected J. David Seigel to fill the upcoming board vacancy representing Subdistrict E. 

The School Board interviewed four community members during open session of a special meeting Tuesday: Paul Carpenter, Lyn Oman, J. David Seigel and Brian Wallheimer. Six people applied to fill the seat. Ray Quintanilla withdrew from the applicant pool on Monday, and Erik Carlson was unable to attend Tuesday's meeting. 

Following board approval, Seigel will be sworn in at the Feb. 9 board meeting. His term will run through the next School Board election in April 2017.

Board member Mike Harner announced his intent to resign from the board in January. Harner has represented Subdistrict E since April 2013. He was reelected in April 2015 to serve a four-year term. He cited work obligations as the cause of his resignation. He took a position with the College of Dentistry at the University of Illinois-Chicago in June 2015.