Skip Navigation LinksRPS 205 Home > News > RPS Congratulates Illinois State Scholars, QuestBridge Match Scholarship winner

RPS Congratulates Illinois State Scholars, QuestBridge Match Scholarship winner


​Nearly 100 Rockford Public Schools students were named 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement. Students honored with the Illinois State Scholar distinction perform in the top half of their high school class (measured at the end of the third semester before graduation), and/or score in the 95th percentile on the ACT, SAT or Prairie State Achievement Exam. 

“We are proud of our students who received this prestigious recognition from the state,” said Deputy Superintendent Matt Vosberg. “It is a reflection of the hard work and commitment from these students, in addition to the support from their families, teachers and staff.” 

This honor is typically noted at each high school’s commencement and at each building. A letter is also sent home to families to celebrate their child’s success.

Among those Illinois State Scholars is Auburn High School senior Precious Nwaoha. Aside from finding success as a semi-finalist for the National Achievement scholarship program, Precious was matched with the University of Southern California through the QuestBridge Match Scholarship. The scholarship covers all costs of college attendance – tuition, room and board, plus student fees – for a student for four years. Through the program, she’ll receive approximately $250,000 in scholarship assistance. 

Auburn Principal Devon LaRosa offered his congratulations to Precious, on behalf of all Auburn Knights. “Precious has received this highly esteemed recognition because of her hard work ethic, perseverance and appetite to learn,” he said.

To learn more about Questbridge, please visit ​To learn more about the State Scholar distinction or the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, visit

Rockford Public Schools Illinois State Scholars 

Auburn High School

Ady, Elizabeth
Ahmad, Misha
Benink, Logan
Bliss, Sarah
Blomgren, Sara 
Boettcher, Andrew 
Braman, Sophie-Clair 
Chockalingam, Chandler 
Clayburg, Makenzie 
Day, Alexander 
Edgren, Derick 
Garvida, Camille 
Gay, Sara 
Giakas, Andreas 
Giakas, Sebastian 
Gorsuch, Logan 
Gorzek, Kathryn 
Haroon, Haseeb 
Hooker, Broderick 
Korkmaz, Serena 
Lewis, Yamari 
Li, Daniel
Mulick, Trevor 
Nguyen, Tri
Nwaoha, Precious 
O'Connor, Erin 
Osborne, Aidan 
Patel, Priyanka 
Prasanna, Arjun
Puri, Ashwin
Riffle, Ethan
Ruiz, Katrianna 
Salisbury, Tatianna 
Shah, Siddhant 
Soufan, Chadi
Tata, Rayomand 
Tomkus, Brett 
Trautmann, Marc 
Watts, Joseph 
Westholder, Nathaniel 
Zeng, Zijian

Guilford High School
Amin, Atish 
Bannick, Grant 
Bertram, Erkan 
Bohlman, Brittany 
Brekelbaum, Jesse 
Collen, Joel 
Dobel, Samuel 
Fehlberg, Cory 
Figueroa, Rachel 
Gorak, Karis 
Heinzer, Marianne 
Ives, Alyssa 
Johnson, Adam 
Nguyen, An 
Rahic, Ramiza 
Reitsch, Michael
Reynolds, Kayla 
Schorr, Jessica 
Sharp, Elizabeth 
Smith, Cameron 
Sommer, John 
Strunk, Bryce 
Waller, Jibria 
White, Caleb 
Yapo, Alia 

Jefferson High School 
Brauer, Rebecca 
Burg, Madeline 
Castillo, Gerardo 
Faith, Mitchell 
Joseph, Timia 
Manning, Daray 
McDonald, Tabitha 
Milla, Aziz 
Morales, Nicole 
Pete, Emily 
Peterson, Justin 
Saichek, Max 
Scott, Alexis 

East High School
Aden, Nathaniel
Chavez, Joshua 

Finley, Susanna 
Fontana, Tess 
Franklin, Heather 
Greifenstein, Elizabeth 
Herrera, Janet 
Huntley, Mariah 
Johnson, Anndee 
Krause, David 
Lopez, Edmund 
Marshall, Katherine 
Miller, Sean
Roquet, Bryce
Ross, Raven 
Sommerfield, Savannah 
Studer, Cameron 
Wilkinson, Alex