Skip Navigation LinksRPS 205 Home > News > RPS 205 Announces Second Hall of Fame Class

RPS 205 Announces Second Hall of Fame Class


​​Rockford Public Schools will honor a musician, a muralist, a former RPS 205 teacher and a high school theatre production when it holds its second Fine Arts Hall of Fame Awards. The event recognizes graduates who went on to achieve tremendous success in his/her arts field, former arts productions, and educators or advocates who have made a valuable impact on the arts in Rockford Public Schools. 

The 2017 inductees are: Longtime arts educator and advocate Kathryn Engel-Terasaki; Guilford High School graduate and composer Jake Runestad; Guilford graduate and Rockford artist Mark Adamany; and the 1990 East High School production of Grease, which was the first RPS 205 musical selected to be featured at the Illinois High School Theatre Festival. They’ll be recognized at a banquet September 16 at Radisson Hotel & Conference Center. 

More about this year’s Hall of Fame:
Kathryn Engel-Terasaki taught music and choir in RPS 205 from 1974 to 2010. She worked with students at 10 different schools during that time. She also served as the conductor and musical director for many East and Guilford shows and was named the RPS 205 Teacher of the Year in 1992-1993.

Jake Runestad, a 2004 Guilford graduate, has collaborated with leading ensembles and organizations around the world. His work was performed at the White House in 2015 at a special event for President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama. Locally, the Rockford Symphony Orchestra in 2014 performed one of his compositions, “Dreams of the Fallen.” He received a 2016 Morton Gould Young Composer Award from the American Society of Composers, as well as accolades from the American Composers Forum, Authors and Publishers Foundation, the Peabody Conservatory, the National Association for Music Education, American Choral Directors Association. (More information at​)

Mark J. Adamany graduated from Guilford in 1985 and established the Adamany Art & Design in Rockford IL in 1994. Adamany specializes in murals, and his work can be seen in nine states, from resorts and movie theaters, to restaurants and commercial locations. You can see his work locally at Big Al’s Bar at Giovanni’s Restaurant & Convention Center in Rockford, Beefaroo in Rockford and Loves Park, and Firehouse Pub and Grill in Roscoe. He has earned 12 international awards. (More information at adamany.c​om​)

The 1990 East High School cast of “Grease” is the first group/production to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Director and former East and Auburn High School drama teacher James L. Crow plans to organize a performance for the event with East alumni. The show was one of eight of Crow’s shows to be featured at the Illinois High School Theatre Festival. “What made it outstanding was it had an enlarged cast of 45 students,” Crow said. “It was a main stage production that was extremely popular with the festival goers.”

Tickets are $40 per person and are available by contacting Emily Tropp:​​ or 815-966-8960. Click​ here to purchase tickets​. Last year’s recipients were artist and East alum Tom Heflin, longtime arts educator Ann Rundall, and performing artists Kevin and Marcel Wilson, alumni of the Creative and Performing Arts program at Auburn High School.